Select Page

GRIDlink displays as “Online” but cannot register with the VTN

by | Jan 15, 2017 | FAQ Open ADR2.0a-Group, FAQ Open ADR2.0b-Group, GRIDlink ADR FAQ-Group

FAQ
Open ADR
Open ADR

Applicable to 2.0a & 2.0b

I tried to connect a GRIDlink to GRIDview and the VTN for testing, it displays as “Online” but cannot be registered on the VTN.

Start Procedure - Click Arrow >

GRIDview Online

The green “Online” Icon at the top right, is an indication that the GRIDlink is connected with GRIDview therefore the information shown is accurate and in real time.

The green “Payload Received” in the Alarm group indicates the GRIDlink is connected to the Open ADR Virtual Top Node (VTN)

VTN not connected

The green “Online” Icon at the top right, is an indication that the GRIDlink is connected with GRIDview

The yellow “Connection Failure -1” in the Alarm group is one of several comm error codes that indicate the GRIDlink has not connected to the Open ADR Virtual Top Node (VTN)

The GRIDlink should always connect to GRIDview regardless of it ability to connect to the VTN (as shown here). Check alarm codes.

About Comm Error Codes …

Good QOS - Polling VTN

The blue “Polling VTN” in the Alarm group indicates the GRIDlink has temporarily lost its connection to the Open ADR Virtual Top Node (VTN) which is not a concern if the QOS Alarm remains green.

About Comm Error Codes …

VTN low QOS

Should the QOS Alarm become yellow with the  blue “Polling VTN” in the Alarm group, there should be caution but it is not an indication of an actual failure … yet. There are a number of normal conditions which can cause this comm error.

About Comm Error Codes …

Lost VTN Connection

Should the QOS Alarm become red with the  blue “Polling VTN” in the Alarm group, this is an indication of an actual failure in communications.

About Comm Error Codes …

Lost GRIDview Connection

The brown “Offline” Icon at the top right, is an indication that the GRIDlink is no longer connected with GRIDview and the information shown may not be accurate as it reflects the last data that existed at the time the connection was lost.

Procedure Complete!